After the frantic activity of yesterday morning had died down along with the peeling church bells I found myself in charge of five very affable dogs and four hens. My clients didn’t require me to walk this good-natured pack asking me to supervise their exercise in the paddock at the rear of the cottage. This I did taking the indoor dogs outdoors first. Such uncontrollable enthusiasm! The gate was pushed out of my hand and a blur of black labs and springer spaniel hurtled up the field! This was nothing compared to the ecstatic greeting I was met with when I opened the gate of the outdoor run to release the gun dogs. I was almost flattened by two canine tornadoes. Both sprocker and cocker put in an impressive turn of speed around the garden and didn’t stop roving about until I returned them to their kennel.

