Unsurprisingly, taking two extremely active spaniels out twice a day for several hours at a time I have noticed several changes in myself:-

1. I am ravenous!

2. I am ravenous!

3. I sleep better, well mostly!

4. I’m always on the look out for places to sit and admire the view!!!

5. I’m ravenous!!!

6. I drink more, water, not alcohol!!

Do I feel any fitter? I’m not altogether sure that I do! Living in a fairly hilly area of Cornwall I thought that I was reasonably fit! Here in Selworthy to go anywhere you have to walk up or down a hill.  I find myself judging gradients thinking, do I have enough stamina today for that?

I have been keeping myself hydrated by drinking copious gallons of squash!  In fact many is the occasion when I have been awash with squash and caught out in the woods!  I am NOT a nature girl and have never been good at peeing in the wild (behind a tree, bush or any other form of shrubbery!) as I never remember to carry a tissue and always manage to wee down my leg, even when in a crouched position?!

What’s all that got to do with toast I hear you cry, sorry I digress!  Well as in points: 1, 2 and 5 I find my apatite  has increased considerably.  Where as I’d turn my nose up a porridge for breakfast at home in favour of French pastries I find a large bowl of oatmeal very appealing, especially with several tablespoons of sugar!  Okay, okay, I know it’s not good for my teeth!  Quite often I’d skip lunch at home but now I find I need something reasonably substantial midday otherwise by 3pm I’m about to keel over!!  Recently I discovered the simple pleasure of tomatoes on toast.  I’d used up the mushrooms, eggs and baked beans so I had a quick riffle through the contents of the fridge and found the over ripe vine tomatoes left over from a salad I’d had a few days ago.  Perfect! I thought heating some olive oil with a couple  of cloves of garlic in a frying pan.  I can eat as much garlic as I want, it’s just me and the dogs!  I cut the tomatoes in half and slid them into the hot oil, they made a satisfying sizzling noise.  I left them until they just caught before turning them over and grinding black pepper on the now softened and puckered flesh.  I toasted a couple of slices of brown bread but didn’t butter it as there was plenty of olive oil in the pan which I poured over the tomatoes, three halves on each slice of toast and added more pepper.  I don’t know whether it was because I was so hungry from all the fresh air and exercise I’d had that day  but that simple meal tasted absolutely delicious and the best thing about it was mopping up the pan juices with another slice of bread!  Cheese on toast tomorrow I think!!

