If there is one thing I have discovered whilst working as a home and pet sitter it is that I can be quite adaptable and the everyday things I thought I couldn’t do without are not essential. Except fresh ground coffee, I never travel without it or my French Press! I will drink instant coffee but only under sufferance!! Blah!! Nasty!!!

I’ve always been aware that technology is not my strong point so give me more than one remote control for the television and I’m baffled! However, with the help of a good instruction manual and plenty of trial and error, I am becoming more of an expert on the use of washing machines, tumble driers, cookers and microwaves.

Different mattresses take some getting used to as with bedroom layouts, it’s a shock to the system when you try to get up in the middle of the night without putting the light on and the bedroom wall is in your way!

