Feed times at most sits can be a noisy, chaotic affair. I must admit to getting a little excited myself on the rare occasion dinner is made for me!

Last month as I was mixing the evening feeds for my client’s two neddys accompanied by the usual sounds of excited whinnies and metal horse shoes being scrapped on the concrete stable floors an enormous crash and a mighty cracking rended the air! Rushing out into the yard I found the mare standing at her stable door looking rather proud of herself. It took a couple of seconds to realize what was wrong, she had managed to pull the heavy half-door inwards! I was just able to squeeze through the narrow gap and make sure the mare was uninjured, thankfully she was fine, but there was no way I could get her out. Unfortunately, the door’s hinges were bent out of shape and the door would not open outwards. I fed the mare and her pony companion then stood surveying the damage.

‘How on earth did you do that?!’ I asked the mare who, now that she had her nose in her bucket, was totally oblivious to everything else!

Unable to find a screwdriver so I could remove the door hinges I rang my Significant Other and requested his services. It wasn’t long before he arrived and the two of us stood scratching our heads whilst staring in wonder at the wrecked stable door.

‘How did she do it?’ He asked me. I gave him my ‘Gaelic’ shrug.

It turned out that my Significant Other didn’t have any suitable tools with him and after standing for a further ten minutes gazing fixedly at the scene and weighing up our options I decided to ring my client’s son who lived nearby.

Fifteen minutes later my client’s son, my S.O. and myself were all standing in front of the stable door, scratching at our heads and watching the now impatient mare pacing her loose box.

‘How on earth did she do that?!!’ my client’s son exclaimed, we shrugged!!

Lucky for us my client’s son had the right piece of kit for the job and it wasn’t long before the door was being lifted off its hinges whilst I held onto a now dancing mare and tried to keep her calm.

With the defective door out-of-the-way, the impatient mare charged, snorting, into the yard scattering her two rescuers as she went with me determindly hanging onto her lead rope as she headed straight for the grass! The mare didn’t seem in the least bit grateful!!

