Some people find themselves unable to shake a catchy tune, I seem to be susceptible to phrases.  A few weeks ago I was chatting with my client’s gardener who’d finish every other sentence with … `and whatnot’.  Not long after our conversation I caught myself doing exactly the same and have been using it ever since. I have had to break a similarly annoying habit, when it was pointed out to me that I was using the expression, `like you do’, more than was necessary!

I think it must be a process of social osmosis because, even on the rare occasions I  spend time with my Significant Other, he has taken to saying …. and whatnot which, according to the online Urban Dictionary is another form of etc.  So I was very impressed to here it being used, somewhat incongruously, by a presenter during an interview on Radio 4.

